Smoke

red_smoke_brush_background_by_ninjagirldawn

You touch me and I turn to stone.
Even though you say
That we’re not alone
We’re only blowing smoke
As the breeze whispers in,
Sweeping inhibitions
Out through the open window

I touch you and you turn to stone.
Even though I say
That we’re not alone
We’re only blowing smoke
As Insecurities dissolve and float
Out through the open window

Even so,

It’s burned and engraved
into my mind’s eye
The way you sat on the end of the bed that night
And cried
Releasing all the fears and thoughts that you held inside
But there was nothing I could say
To ease your mind into a lie

There was nothing I could say
When you asked me
If life would always be this way
So we simply watched the smoke
Rise, gather, and dissipate.

2 thoughts on “Smoke

Leave a Reply

