February 1st Free Write

The mirror had no reflection for those many years
I would stand there, touching glass, my eyes betraying tears
I couldn’t see past
The worth I measured myself against
That I was as much as my accomplishments
Meanwhile ever patient and compassionate to any other one
When maybe I was the one needing and worthy of love
And I was deceived- listening to the voices attacking me
Condemning, shaming
subtly hating and breaking
But I’m listening this time
To the whisper and the chill inside
Sparking from the base of my skull down along my spine
Beckoning, begging, pouring  out it all
To brush fates with any higher call
And to see again
As sanctified spirit, flesh, and bone.

2 thoughts on “February 1st Free Write

Leave a Reply

