Familiar Eyes


Days like today I ask myself        Why do I feel so much weaker   Than everyone else

When death beckons softly            As better than this                        Feels like I’ve died a thousand times                                                    but still can’t find

Familiar Eyes                                   That say home to me                     And so I hide                                           I don’t want them to see              That I can’t always try                        A thousand one times                Maybe I’m the fool for ever loving Familiar Eyes

I don’t want you to look in mine and see                                              That even after all this time I still bleed                                                         I don’t know how to try the way I once did                                              Tell me are you still so empty the way that you said

That death’s beckoned softly  as better than this                               Like you’d died a thousand times  But still couldn’t find

Familiar Eyes                                    That say home to you                       Do you hide                                   when you don’t want them to see That you can’t always try                  a thousand one times               Maybe you were the fool                for ever loving at all

When you think you know someone                                                 It all falls and comes undone              I remember a small child             Who once thought                          there was a home inside      

Familiar Eyes.

Leave a Reply

