Wires 

Every sound hurts; light grating away 

at nerves ready primed, taught and frayed

But overdrive never satisfies

anything but the burning of time
Thoughts fogged and chaotic

No song can quell or calm it

Everything collectively to me 

means nothing at all

But another burden on my shoulders

sure isn’t hurting any less as I get older

There are too many wires

Crossed up inside my heart

Burning white hot

Dying with every thought

Of what is not

Alive in me

Anymore
The final feather on my shoulders

Set to cave them in

But I won’t get any do-overs

By Drowning out the oxygen
Entangled in sparking wires that hold me

As I’m growing so old and tired of trying

My eyes have opened up but rendered blind

Pain becomes love when black is white
So many things demand recall

So much wrong but not tangible 

None make sense right now at all

In this starving, shaking perpetual cold
And so I Draw it

On my skin again

dragging it out; and myself right in

It never makes sense in the moment

But it never matters, does it

When I’m breaking down again
Just call it what it is

And Let’s see you try to control it

But I am not my own

Whatever am I; who ever may know?
But I’m Terrified it’s true- 

You were right about me, 

weren’t you? 

3 thoughts on “Wires 

  1. Hey!

    I’m loving your blog but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

Leave a Reply

