4.9 


The only constant is change

or at least it’s what they say

And I repeat it

To encourage you today

Though perhaps it’s just a lie

Of well-intentioned phrase

I don’t know if I believe today

in optimistic words I say

I think that once expired

Life goes in preset phase

Once Monochrome 

or of the most brilliant of colors now unknown

But now every hour It’s ever a challenge

not to look back and miss

The long lost days of ignorant innocent bliss

Because the good old days have passed away

No more black,white, or colors

Only different types of grey

The youth has faded from our faces

But when I close my eyes I still see you the same

But look in mine and see that I’m

Sorry for the parts that I let die

When you managed to hold on to something worthwhile

And I can’t believe how easily

I fall, when I do

To let words destroy me

When they were meant to encourage me too

I’m amazed at the power of a word carelessly spoken

How much I let it hurt when it’s the subject that’s so loaded

I’d think I’d have grown and matured enough that when those words are spoken

I’d be strong enough to not let the reminders tear nagging wounds reopened

But It took years to show my face in public again

“Everything changes,”I replied with confidence

To comments misplaced in faultless ignorance

But really it wasn’t me that’s changed

Much as as the circumstance has

They’re different now

I used up my power in how it worked out

But I’ve never fought like I do now

How can I put the past to rest

When it’s always brought up

from the dead again

But believe me, never for a second do I forget

I never could, not even for a moment

But it won’t be spoken of again

Not by me at least

Because appearances don’t mean anything

And there’s nothing left to change

Life has its price of death to pay

these lessons will at last have their way

In me.

Leave a Reply

